skip to main content

Career Advising

The Career Advising team with the Office of Student Affairs, exists to help each and every medical student achieve success both academically and professionally. Through multiple resources within the College of Medicine and nationally, we are here to guide you from first year orientation to graduation with the belief you will flourish in residency and beyond. Your achievements will be our reward!

As you strive to exemplify the College of Medicine Honor Code: A Texas A&M medical student is a professional who exhibits leadership, honesty, integrity, compassion, respect and self-discipline, we want to do all that we can to promote your strengths and accomplishments!

We encourage you to explore the AAMC Careers in Medicine to learn more about the requirements and lifestyles of different specialties as well as take quizzes that will help you identify your areas of interest.

Core Advisors for Careers in Medicine

Texas A&M College of Medicine Core Advisors for all specialties are available to discuss any questions you may have about a specialty you are interested in or any other specialty you are considering.

The specific duties of a core advisor are:

  • Serve as a resource to answer questions about getting into that specific specialty
  • From M1-M3’s from any campus
  • Most communications will be via email. A phone call or in person visit may be arranged if advisor wishes.
  • Second opinion source for M3’s and M4’s regarding their specialty
  • Field questions from specialty-specific advisors regarding difficult or unusual situations.
  • Some core advisors may elect to serve as specialty specific advisor as well. In about February of year 3, students will be assigned a personal specialty specific advisor based on their specialty of choice.

At any time during medical school, if a student has questions about a specific specialty, questions may be directed to campus Student Affairs Deans or email questions to one of the Core Advisors. The list of Core Advisors’ specialties, names and emails are listed below.

 Core Advisor  Specialty  Email
Clint Tippett, MD Anesthesiology jason.tippett@BSWHealth.org
Katie Fiala, MD Dermatology Katherine.fiala@BSWHealth.org
Scott Wieters, MD Emergency Medicine  wieters@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Dorian Drigalla, MD    dorian.drigalla@BSWHealth.org
Trey Hill, MD ENT, Otolaryngology gerhard.hilliii@BSWHealth.org
David Clark, MD   david.clark1@BSWHealth.org
John Manning, MD Family Medicine john.manning@bswhealth.org
Rachael Evans, MD   drrachaelevans@gmail.com
Rae Adams, MD   RAAdams@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Scott Thomas, MD General Surgery Scott.Thomas@BSWHealth.org
Geoffrey Funk, MD   gafunkmd@me.com
Austin Metting, MD Internal Medicine austin.metting@bswhealth.org
Thi Cao, MD   Ucao@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Doug McDonald, MD Interventional Radiology douglas.mcdonald@bswhealth.org
Tresa McNeal, MD Med Peds McNeal@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Jeff Clark, DO Neurology jeffrey.clark@bswhealth.org
Jason Huang, MD Neurosurgery Jason.Huang@bswhealth.org
L. Gerard Toussaint, MD   lgtoussaint@txbsi.com
Chris Birkholz, MD Obstetrics/Gynecology christopher.birkholz@bswhealth.org
Adrianne Browning, MD   adriannebrowning@gmail.com
Kenneth Lao, MD Ophthalmology kenneth.lao@bswhealth.org
Doug Fornfeist, MD Orthopedics douglas.fornfeist@bswhealth.org
Russell Ward, MD   russell.ward@bswhealth.org
Kathleen Jones, MD Pathology kathleen.jones1@bswhealth.org/ kjones@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Joseph Guileyardo, MD   joseph.guileyardo@bswhealth.org
Myron Rosen, MD   myron.rosen@bswhealth.org
Christopher Hovland, MD Pediatric Christopher.Hovland@BSWHealth.org
James Albers, MD Physical Medicine/ Rehabilitation james.albers@bswhealth.org
Amy Wilson, MD   amy.wilson2@bswhealth.org
Helen Patel, MD   helen.patel@bswhealth.org
Wendy Czerwinski, MD Plastic Surgery wendy.czerwinski@bswhealth.org
Maxanne Flores, MD Psychiatry virginia.flores@bswhealth.org
Sameer Jhavar, MD, PhD Radiation Oncology Sameer.jhavar@bswhealth.org
James Schnitker, MD Radiology james.schnitker@bswhealth.org
Anastacio Saenz, MD   anastacio.saenzjr@bswhealth.org
Umesh Oza, MD   uoza@americanrad.com
Patrick Lowry, MD Urology Patrick.lowry@bswhealth.org
David Dawson, MD Vascular Surgery david.dawson@bswhealth.org

Doc Talks

Come listen to specialists talk about their career paths!

  • February 1st, Friday 12-1: Doc Talks: Drs. Henderson and Riley – Orthopaedic Surgery.  Drs. Hnatek and Adams – Family Medicine
  • March 1st, Friday 12-1: Doc Talks: Dr. Sukkawala – Anesthesia.  Dr. White – Neurosurgery
  • April 5th, Friday 12-1: Doc Talks:  Dr. Kuppersmith – ENT. Dr. Fergie – Pediatric Infectious Disease
  • May 10th, Friday 12-1: Doc Talks: Dr. Waer – General Surgery
  • August 16th, Friday 12-1: Doc Talks: Dr. Friedman – Obstetrics and Gynecology

 

Frequently asked questions for each residency specialty

Do you have questions about applying to a specific medical specialty? The Student Affairs office has asked program directors here in Texas to answer some of the most common questions about applying to their specialty.  Check out their answers on our FAQs below.