Family Medicine

Jim DonovanJim Donovan, MD

Dr. Jim Donovan is the vice dean and assistant professor of family medicine at Texas A&M College of Medicine in Round Rock. Prior to joining the College of Medicine in Round Rock in May 2013, Donovan served as the chief medical officer for St. David’s Georgetown Hospital and has served in various hospital leadership roles, including both chief of medical staff and as a longstanding member of the board of trustees. He received his doctor of medicine degree from The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio in 1981 and completed his internship and residency in family medicine at John Peter Smith Hospital in Ft. Worth in 1984. Donovan joined Georgetown Medical Clinic, a private medical group practice, and served as a member of the board of directors for Georgetown Healthcare System (now Georgetown Healthcare Foundation) until 2007. In 2008, Donovan moved to Hilo, Hawaii, where he held the position of assistant professor and Hilo site director in the Department of Family and Community Health at John A. Burns School of Medicine and was tasked with establishing Hawaii’s first remote rural family medicine training track. In addition, he was a practicing staff member at the Hilo Medical Center.

Donovan holds memberships in the American Academy of Family Physicians, Texas Academy of Family Physicians, Society of Teachers of Family Medicine and the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society. He is certified by the American Board of Family Practice and holds medical licenses in Texas and Hawaii.

For more information about this clerkship, contact Erin Herbrich 512.341.4918

Internal Medicine

For more information about this clerkship, contact Natalie Washburn 512.341.4960

Obstetrics & Gynecology

Paul MurphreePaul Murphree, MD

Dr. Paul Murphree is a physician at Oakwood Women’s Centre, P.A. and has served as the clerkship director of obstetrics & gynecology at the Texas A&M Health Science Center since 2008. Murphree received his medical degree from the University of Mississippi School of Medicine in 1978. He completed his internship in family medicine at the University of Alabama in 1982 and his residency in obstetrics and gynecology at St. Joseph Hospital in Houston. Murphree was the chief of resident in 1985 and in 1984 was a resident in gynecologic oncology at M.D. Anderson Hospital and Turner Institute. Murphree is certified by the American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology and is a fellow of the American College of Obstetrics and Gynecology. He has special training in operative laparoscopy. Murphree established the Oakwood Women’s Centre, P.A. in 1985 to provide sophisticated specialty care to the women of Round Rock and the surrounding Central Texas area.

For more information about this clerkship, contact Erin Herbrich 512.341.4918


Laura FergusonLaura Ferguson, MD, FAAP

Dr. Laura Ferguson is associate dean for education and faculty affairs and professor of pediatrics at Texas A&M College of Medicine in Round Rock. Ferguson is course co-director for EBMSR I-III, the fourth-year elective in health care advocacy and public policy. She serves on the admissions committee and on the pre-clerkship curriculum committees. Ferguson sees patients at Austin Regional Clinic Pediatric After-Hours urgent care.

Ferguson graduated from Rice University, earned her M.D. at University of Texas at Houston Medical School and also completed her residency in Pediatrics at UT-Houston. After four years in private practice in Stephenville, Texas, she joined the faculty at UT-Houston and contributed to medical student and resident education at Lyndon B. Johnson General hospital in the nursery, pediatric ward, clinic and emergency room for 15 years. With a goal of learning how to provide multidisciplinary team care for children with disabilities, she completed a HRSA sponsored fellowship in Leadership in Neurodevelopmental and Related Disabilities (LEND) at the University of New Mexico, Center for Development and Disability in 2007.

After leaving UT-Houston in 2010, Ferguson served as a section chief at The Children’s Hospital Clinic of Scott and White Temple campus and was associate director of the children’s quality committee as well as a pediatric residency continuity clinic preceptor. From 2011 to 2013, she served as associate medical director and chair of the quality council at Lone Star Circle of Care, a federally qualified health center (FQHC) in Georgetown, Texas.

Ferguson is board certified by the American Board of Pediatrics. She has served on editorial boards at the American Academy of Pediatrics including those for AAP News, Education in Quality Improvement for Pediatric Practice (EQIPP) web-based modules, Pediatrics, the Pediatrics Review and Education Program (PREP) writing CME board review questions. She serves as the education subcommittee chair for the executive board of the AAP Council on Quality Improvement and Patient Safety. Ferguson currently serves as the CME co-chair for the Texas Pediatric Society as well as on the executive board.

Ferguson serves on the Texas Medicaid Drug Utilization Review Board at the Texas Health and Human Services Commission; the board ensures patient medication safety for individuals covered by Texas Medicaid as well as evidence based cost effective Medication practices.

For more information about this clerkship, contact Megan McFadden 512.341.4988


Michael CraunMichael Craun, MD, FACS

Dr. Michael Craun is the trauma medical director at St. David’s Round Rock Medical Center and associate professor of surgery at Texas A&M College of Medicine in Round Rock. Craun is a highly-qualified and experienced trauma surgeon and critical care specialist. Prior to joining St. David’s Round Rock Medical Center in January 2010, Craun served as the medical director of trauma services for the Level I Trauma Center at Scott & White Hospital in Temple, Texas. Previously, Craun was the medical director of trauma services at Swedish Medical Center in Englewood, Colorado, a Level I Trauma Center in the Denver metro area.

Craun has made notable professional accomplishments in the field of trauma. He developed trauma programs at both Harris Methodist Hospital in Fort Worth, Texas, and Hillcrest Baptist Medical Center in Waco, Texas, resulting in verification at each hospital by the American College of Surgeons as a Level II Trauma Center. In addition, he has written numerous publications on trauma related topics and is eagerly engaged in regional trauma education and Emergency Medical Services activities.

Craun holds a doctor of medicine degree from The University of Texas, Southwestern Medical School in Dallas. He is board certified by the American Board of Surgery and is a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons, the American Association for the Surgery of Trauma and the Society of Critical Care medicine.

For more information about this clerkship, contact Erin Stavinoha 512.341.4919