Kayla J. Bayless, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Molecular and Cellular Medicine
Lab: 979.845.7287
Phone: 979.845.7205
Email:kbayless@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Molecular signals that regulate endothelial cell invasion in three-dimensional matrices; ocular angiogenesis

Sarah E. Bondos, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Molecular and Cellular Medicine
Phone: 979.845.5399
Email: SEBondos@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Protein structure, function, and assembly; using protein-based materials to guide and pattern angiogenesis in 3D tissue engineering scaffolds

Clifford J. Buckley, MD
Professor
Department of Surgery
Phone:254.724.5975
Email: cbuckley@sw.org
Peripheral vascular disease; intravascular ultrasonography; quality/cost control issues in practice of vascular surgery.

Jiang Chang, MD, PhD
Associate Professor
IBT Center for Molecular Development and Disease
Cardiac biology; molecular basis of heart failure

Gerard L Cote, PhD
Professor
Department of Biomedical Engineering
Phone: 979.845.4196
Email: cote@tamu.edu
Optical sensing and spectroscopy, optical diagnostics, biomedical imaging, development of non-invasive sensors

John C. Criscione, MD, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Biomedical Engineering
Phone: 979.845.5428
Email: jccriscione@tamu.edu
Cardiac mechanics; constitutive mechanics; computational mechanics; cellular mechanics.

Stephen F. Crouse, PhD
Professor
Kinesiology Division
Department of Health and Kinesiology
Phone: 979.845.3997
Email: s-crouse@tamu.edu
Cardiovascular risk factors; blood lipid profiles in sedentary and exercising subjects.

Gregory J. Dehmer, MD
Professor
Department of Internal Medicine
Phone: 254.724.6713
Email: gdehmer@sw.org
Platelets, thrombosis and myocardial infarction; national standards for interventional cardiology practice and training.

David E. Dostal, PhD
Professor
Department of Medical Physiology
Phone: 254.743.2464
Email: ddostal@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Regulation and functional role of the cardiac renin-angiotensin system.

Anatoliy A. Gashev, MD, PhD, DMedSci
Associate Professor
Department of Medical Physiology
Phone: 254.742.7147
Email: gashev@tamu.edu
Lymphatic physiology, mechanisms of lymphatic pumping, behavior of human lymphatics.

Harris J. Granger, PhD
Distinguished Professor
Department of Medical Physiology
Phone: 979.845.7816
Email: granger@tamu.edu
Angiogenesis; microvascular permeability; growth factor signaling; genomics; computer simulation of biological processes.

Rakeshwar Guleria, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
Department of Medical Physiology
Phone: 254.743.4915
Email: rsguleria@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Role of renin angiotensin system in diabetes induced cardiac remodeling with special reference to retinoid receptor mediated signaling

Shaodong Guo, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Medical Physiology
Phone: 254.743.1222
Email: sguo@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Foxo1, Foxo3, insulin signaling, mitochondrial function, pancreatic beta cell function

Sudhiranjan Gupta, PhD
Assistant Professor
Department of Medical Physiology
Phone: 254.743.2465
Email: sgupta@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Role of NF-KB in extracellular matrix protein remodeling in cardiac hypertrophy and heart failure; role of thymosin ß4 and integrin link kinase (ILK) in cardiac remodeling and role of ILK and NF-KB in pulmonary arterial hypertension

Guichun Han, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor
Department of Veterinary Physiology & Pharmacology
Phone: 979.845.6099
Email:GHan@cvm.tamu.eduEffects of sex hormones in coronary circulation, especially the role of estrogen receptors in coronary arterial tone regulation and arterial wall remodeling; signaling mechanisms of sex hormones in vascular tone

Cristine L. Heaps, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Veterinary Physiology & Pharmacology
Phone: 979.458.0753
Email: cheaps@cvm.tamu.edu
Cellular and functional adaptations in the coronary circulation in response to coronary artery disease and exercise training; specifically the adaptive responses of both smooth muscle ion channels and endothelial nitric oxide regulation in the regulation of coronary artery function with disease and exercise training.

Travis W. Hein, PhD
Professor
Department of Surgery
Phone: 254.724.3550
Email: thein@tamhsc.edu
Physiology and pathophysiology of coronary and retinal microcirculation; metabolic regulation of microvascular blood flow; nitric oxide and microvascular function; influence of antioxidants/oxidative stress on microvascular vasomotor function

Wonmuk Hwang, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Biomedical Engineering
Phone: 979.458.0178
Email: hwm@tamu.edu
Computer simulation and theoretical modeling of biomolecular self-assembly and mechanics; amyloid fibrillogenesis; biofilament mechanics; collagen dynamics; cytoskeletal mechanics; kinesin motility; molecular motors

Roland Kaunas, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Biomedical Engineering
Phone:979.845.2412
Email: rkaunas@bme.tamu.edu
Mechanical properties of cells; regulation of mechanotransduction via cytoskeletal reorganization; angiogenesis; cell-matrix interactions.

Rajesh Kumar, PhD
Research Associate Professor
Department of Medical Physiology
Phone: 254.743.1203
Email: kumar@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Regulation of gene expression in cardiac hypertrophy, transcription factors, cluster analysis of genomic responses.

Lih Kuo, PhD
Professor
Department of Medical Physiology
Phone:254.742.7041
Email: lkuo@tamu.edu
Regulation of coronary microvascular function; endothelium and vascular smooth-muscle biology; atherosclerosis and ischemia-reperfusion injury.

Glen A. Laine, PhD
Professor
Department of Veterinary Physiology and Pharmacology
Phone: 979.845.7261
Email: glaine@tamu.edu
Microvascular, interstitial and lymphatic interactions in regulating myocardial fluid balance; myocardial edema and fibrosis; left ventricular mechanics

John M. Lawler, PhD
Professor
Department of Health & Kinesiology
Phone: 979.862.2038
jml2621@neo.tamu.edu
Exercise, oxidative stress, antioxidant capacity, nitric oxide, cardiovascular disease, muscle wasting

Larry F. Lemanski, PhD
Professor
Department of Biological and Environmental Sciences
Texas A&M University - Commerce
Phone: 903.866.5018
Email: Larry.Lemanski@tamuc.edu
Cellular, molecular and developmental mechanisms of cardiac muscle repair processes using tissue culture as well as in vivo mouse infarct models.

Ronald D. MacFarlane, PhD
Professor
Department of Chemistry
Phone: 979.845.2021
Email: macfarlane@mail.chem.tamu.edu
Application of ionization mass spectrometry and capillary electrophoresis to problems related to human medicine; lipoprotein profiling and coronary vascular disease

Michael P. Massett, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Health and Kinesiology
Phone: 979.862.4687
Email: mmassett@hlkn.tamu.edu
Genomic/genetic approaches to identify genes associated with exercise training, physiological adaptations to exercise training as they relate to markers of chronic disease, endothelial function, vascular remodeling

Steven A. Maxwell, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Molecular and Cellular Medicine
Phone: 979.845.7206
Email: s-maxwell@tamu.edu
Cancer; oncogenes; tumor suppressor genes; apoptosis; angiogenesis.

Wallace McKeehan, PhD
Professor
IBT Center for Cancer Biology and Nutrition
Phone: 713.677.7522
Email: wmckeehan@ibt.tamhsc.edu
Molecular signaling through fibroblast growth factor and transforming growth factors, prostate cancer, cardiovascular diseases, liver regeneration, plant products for the prevention and treatment of cancer

Cynthia J. Meininger, PhD
Professor
Department of Medical Physiology
Phone: 254.742.7037
Email: cjm@tamu.edu
Physiologic control of angiogenesis; vascular complications in diabetes; nitric oxide production and proliferation of endothelial cells; mast cell modulation of tumor angiogenesis

Brett M. Mitchell, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Medical Physiology
Phone: 979.436.0751
Email: bmitchell@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Endothelial cell and vascular biology; regulation of arterial blood pressure by the immune system and inflammation; mouse models of hypertension and preeclampsia.

Jon Mogford, PhD
Vice Chancellor for Research
Texas A&M University System
Phone: 979.458.6000
Email: jmogford@tamus.edu
Vascular response to injury, hemorrhagic/shock states, neural-vascular interactions

Mariappan Muthuchamy, PhD
Professor
Department of Medical Physiology
Phone:979.847.9251
Email: marim@tamu.edu
Structure and function relationship of contractile proteins - a transgenic approach; molecular and physiological mechanisms of cardiac muscle contraction.

M. Karen Newell-Rogers, PhD
Professor
Department of Surgery
Phone: 254.742.7028
Email: newellrogers@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Cell differentiation, cell death

Jing Pan, MD, PhD
Research Associate Professor
Department of Internal Medicine
Phone: 254.743.2461
Email: jpan@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Role of rho, MAP kinases and PKC isoforms in cardiac hypertrophy retinoids, glycogen synthase kinase, and the dual-specificity phosphatase MKP-1 as negative modulators of cardiomyocyte hypertrophy

Xu Peng, MD, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Medical Physiology
Phone: 254.742.7033
Email: xpeng@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Cardiac and vascular development; angiogenesis and vasculogenesis

Christopher M. Quick, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Veterinary Physiology and Pharmacology
Phone: 979.845.2645
Email: cquick@tamu.edu
Quantitative cardiovascular physiology; cardiovascular remodeling and simulation; arterial hemodynamics and pulse wave phenomena

Robert H. Rosa, Jr., MD
Professor
Department of Surgery
Phone: 254.724.5541
Email: rrosa@sw.org
Retinal vasoregulation; retinal and choroidal neovascularization; macular degeneration, diabetic retinopathy

Louis-Bruno Ruest, PhD
Assistant Professor
Department of Biomedical Sciences
Phone: 214.828.8294
Email: lbruest@tamhsc.edu
Endothelin signaling during craniofacial and cardiovascular development; role of endothelin signaling in periodontal disease and in pregnancy complications such as premature delivery and eclampsia

Robert C. Scott, III, MD, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Internal Medicine
Phone: 254.724.7286
Email: rcscott@swmail.sw.org
Mechanisms of cardiac hypertrophy and cardiomyopathies; myocarditis; renin-angiotensin-aldosterone system in cardiovascular disease; endothelial function/mechanisms of dysfunction; mechanisms of atherogenesis; evaluation and manipulation of endogenous cardiac stem cells.

John N. Stallone, PhD
Professor
Department of Veterinary Physiology and Pharmacology
Phone: 979.862.3065
Email: jstallone@cvm.tamu.edu
Humoral interactions between vascular smooth muscle and endothelium; genomic and non-genomic effects of gonadal steroid hormones on vascular function.

Randolph Stewart, DVM, PhD
Clinical Associate Professor
Department of Veterinary Physiology and Pharmacology
Phone: 979.862.7764
Email: r-230@tamu.edu
Lymphatic function; microvascular and interstitial fluid dynamics; synovial fluid balance; cardiac function.

George Stoica, DVM, PhD
Professor
Department of Veterinary Pathobiology
Phone: 979.845.5089
Email: gstoica@cvm.tamu.edu
Cancer biology; growth factors; tumor angiogenesis; immunohistochemical analysis of peripheral arteries after balloon angioplasty

Binu Tharakan, PhD
Assistant Professor
Department of Surgery
Phone: 254.724.9782
Email: btharakan@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Microvascular permeability following traumatic and ischemic injuries; blood-brain barrier integrity and tight junction proteins

Carl Tong, M.D., PhD
Assistant Professor
Department of Medical Physiology
Phone: 254.931.1552
Email: CTong@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Contractile proteins, diastolic dysfunction, contractility, cardiomyopathy, calcium to cross-bridge relationship

Andreea Trache, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Medical Physiology
Phone: 979.845.7990
Email: trache@tamu.edu
Development and integration of novel microscopy techniques applied to monitoring molecular dynamics in live cells

Jerome P. Trzeciakowski, PhD
Professor
Department of Medical Physiology
Phone: 979.845.2847
Email: jpt@tamu.edu
Biomathematics; nonlinear dynamics, signal processing techniques and time series analysis; theoretical analysis of signal transduction mechanisms; chaotic mapping and genomic patterns.

Vincent VanBuren, PhD
Assistant Professor
Department of Medical Physiology
Phone:254.742.7005
Email: vanburen@tamu.edu
Biocomputing; biological network reconstruction from high-throughput data; microarray analysis; Monte Carlo simulations; biological sequence analysis

Fen Wang, PhD
Professor
Center for Cancer Biology and Nutrition
Institute of Biosciences and Technology
Phone: 713.677.7520
Email: fwang@ibt.tamhsc.edu
The role of fibroblast growth factor (FGF) and FGF receptor (FGFR) in liver, cardiovascular, wound healing and prostate disease.

Jeremy S. Wasser, PhD
Professor
Department of Veterinary Physiology and Pharmacology
Phone: 979.862.4655
Email: j-wasser@tamu.edu
Comparative cardiovascular physiology; biological applications of magnetic resonance spectroscopy; mechanisms of hypoxia tolerance in turtle heart.

Emily Wilson, PhD
Professor
Department of Medical Physiology
Phone: 979.862.8673
Email: emilyw@tamu.edu
Mechanical forces as regulators of smooth-muscle phenotype; signal transduction through integrin-extracellular matrix system; regulation of integrin expression in endothelial cells.

Christopher R. Woodman, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Health and Kinesiology
Phone: 979.845.0515
Email: woodmanc@hlkn.tamu.edu
Vascular physiology, exercise physiology; interactive effects of aging and exercise training on skeletal muscle vascular beds; adaptation of endothelial and vascular smooth muscle cells to aging

Steven M. Wright, PhD
Professor
Department of Electrical Engineering
Phone: 979.845.9413
Email: wright@ee.tamu.edu
Theory and application of array coils in magnetic resonance spectroscopy; NMR spectroscopy for monitoring cardiac energetics in vivo.

Guoyao Wu, PhD
Distinguished Professor
Department of Animal Science
Phone: 979.845.2714
Email: g-wu@tamu.edu
Arginine metabolism and vascular function; regulation of vascular cell proliferation by nitric oxide, glutamine, and polyamines.

Xin Wu, MD
Research Assistant Professor
Department of Neuroscience & Experimental Therapeutics
Phone: 979.845.9771
Email: xinwu@tamu.edu
Functional studies in cardiovascular system using electrophysiology, atomic force microscopy, immunofluorescence and force measurements etc; integrin-dependent regulation of ion channels; mechanosensitive ion channels.

David C. Zawieja, PhD
Regents Professor
Department of Medical Physiology
Phone: 979.845.7465
Email: dcz@tamu.edu
Microvascular exchange; lymphatic microcirculation; lymphangiogenesis; regulation of calcium within vascular cells.

Shenyuan Zhang, PhD
Assistant Professor
Department of Medical Physiology
Phone: 254.742.7066
Email: shenyuan.zhang@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Calcium channels, calcium signaling, immune disease

Warren E. Zimmer, PhD
Professor
Department of Medical Physiology
Phone: 979.845.2896
Email: wezimmer@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Smooth muscle differentiation; gene expression and transcription factors; transgenic mouse models; stem cell biology