• What is the Judy Smith Award?

    Judy Smith worked in the Office of Academic Affairs in the College of Medicine as an administrative coordinator for almost four years until she passed away on Feb. 1, 2012. During that time she was essential to the College of Medicine's Bryan-College Station campus in planning, organizing and supporting activities to encourage camaraderie and esprit de corps. Judy’s efforts to foster a positive working environment helped cultivate better communication between and within departments. The purpose of the Judy Smith Award is to encourage the continuation of activities that support affirmative working relationships, high employee morale and a positive work environment. One award winner will be named and will receive a plaque of appreciation and a check for $250.

  • Who is eligible for the award?

    The award can be given to any individual who is employed by the College of Medicine or who is associated with the college by their employment (examples include Scott & White and Baylor University Medical Center employees who are not paid by the college, but whose work directly benefits the college). Staff members are eligible to receive the award only once every five years.

  • How do I nominate an employee? Who can nominate an employee?

    Any member of the faculty or staff in the College of Medicine may submit a nomination. Nominations should cite specific examples of the employee’s efforts, and the impact of those on the college.

  • Presentation of Awards

    The award will be presented at a College of Medicine Holiday Reception in December.

  • Award Recipients
    • Donna Shipp, Office of Student Affairs
    • Sharon Alderete, Humanities in Medicine
    • Anna Kjolen, Office of Faculty Affairs
    • Ellen Weichert, Office of the Dean
    • Brenda Long, Institutional Advancement