skip to main content

College of Medicine Departments


The Departments provide fundamental medical instruction and research opportunities for graduate students, professional students and postdoctoral fellows

Humanities in Medicine

The mission of the Department of Humanities in Medicine is to apply the humanities to the human condition through education, research and service.

Medical Education

The Department of Medical Education serves as a centralized source to develop and promote our key/core faculty medical educators by providing professional mentoring, career development and collaborative scholarly research opportunities.

Medical Physiology

The Department of Medical Physiology explores the functions of the human body in health and disease.

Microbial Pathogenesis and Immunology

The Department of Microbial Pathogenesis and Immunology focuses on the origin and development of human diseases with an emphasis on microbial agents.

Molecular and Cellular Medicine

The Department of Molecular and Cellular Medicine department researches a wide range of biological processes, from structure and function of biomolecules to cell physiology.

Neuroscience and Experimental Therapeutics

The Department of Neuroscience & Experimental Therapeutics focuses on brain development, cellular/molecular basis of drug addiction, circadian biology, ocular pharmacology and experimental therapeutics.

Primary Care Medicine

The Department of Primary Care faculty is devoted to clinical practice, teaching and research. The department is composed of academic internists, geriatricians, palliative care physicians who care for patients and families within our regional campus communities.


The Department of Psychiatry will serve as the centralized source to improve the health of individuals and populations through academic psychiatry.