skip to main content

Molecular & Cellular Medicine Faculty and Staff

Principal Faculty

Hubert Amrein, PhD
Professor, Vice Dean of Research
Sensory perception of external chemical world; Molecular/neural basis of sugar and amino acid perception

Vytas Bankaitis, PhD
Professor and Wehner-Welch Foundation Chair in Chemistry
Cellular functions and novel lipid-mediated signal transduction pathways

Kayla Bayless, PhD
Associate Professor
How human endothelial cells, which line interior surface of blood vessels, invade into 3D matrices

Sarah Bondos, PhD
Associate Professor
Tissue-specific regulation of protein function; Functionalizable protein-based materials

Allison C. Rice-Ficht, PhD
Regents Professor
Senior Associate Vice President Research
Director of the Center for Microencapsulation & Drug Delivery
Using biomaterials for controlled release of live and subunit vaccines

Carl Gregory, PhD
Associate Professor
Biology of mesenchymal stem cells and their relation to bone healing

Jun-yuan Ji, PhD
Associate Professor
Cell cycle and transcriptional regulation during development and tumorigenesis

Geoffrey Kapler, PhD
Professor and Head
Replication and transmission of eukaryotic chromosomes

Jason Karpac, PhD
Assistant Professor
Cellular, systemic adaptive signaling networks regulating metabolic homeostasis and affecting aging process

Ryang-Hwa Lee, PhD
Assistant Professor, Institute of Regenerative Medicine
Cellular and molecular mechanisms of therapeutic effects of mesenchymal stem cells

Fei Liu, PhD
Associate Professor
Mesenchymal stem cells' roles in growth and metastasis of cancer; Application of MSCs for cancer treatment

Steve Maxwell, PhD
Associate Professor
Cancer; Oncogenes; Tumor suppressor; Genes programmed cell death (apoptosis); Chemoresistance; and Angiogenesis

Siegfried Musser, PhD
Professor and Associate Head 
Molecular mechanism of protein transport across biological membranes

Darwin J. Prockop, PhD
Professor, Director of Institute for Regenerative Medicine Mesenchymal stem cells' therapeutic benefits for brain injury, epilepsy, diabetes and Alzheimer's disease

J. Martin Scholtz, PhD
Professor, Executive Associate Vice President for Research
Protein folding and misfolding using biophysical techniques

Ashok K. Shetty, PhD
Professor, Associate Director, Institute for Regenerative Medicine
Enhancing brain function after injury, disease or aging

Raquel Sitcheran, PhD
Associate Professor
NF-B (nuclear factor kappa-light-chain-enhancer of activated B cells) proteins role in regulating cancer cell behavior

David Threadgill, PhD
Professor, The Tom and Jean McMullin Chair of Genetics,
Director of the Whole Systems Genomics Initiative at Texas A&M
Cancer genetics; Epidermal growth factor receptor; Environmental response genetics; and Systems genetics resources

Gregg B. Wells, MD, PhD
Associate Professor
Role of protein structure in diseases

Robin Fuchs-Young, PhD
Professor
Institute for Biosciences and Technology
Basic mechanisms of breast carcinogenesis

 

Joint Faculty Appointments

Angela Arenas-Gamboa, DVM, PhD, DACVP
Assistant Professor
Vaccine development against select agents

Roderick H. Dashwood, PhD
Professor and Director
Genetic and epigenetic mechanisms in cancer development

Scott Dindot, PhD
Assistant Professor
Epigenetic and genetic mechanisms of phenotypic variation and disease

Sheila Dobin, PhD
Associate Professor
Improve patient outcomes and physician screening for referral to genetics/genetic testing

L. Rene Garcia, PhD
Associate Professor
Chemo/mechano-sensory and motor outputs changes under various physiological conditions

Yun (Nancy) Huang, PhD
Assistant Professor
DNA methylation/demethylation balance maintenance in mammals; Aberrant DNA methylation contribution to cancer

Thomas J. Kuehl, PhD
Professor

Mingyao Liu, PhD
Professor
Cells receiving/processing information from physiochemical environments under normal and disease conditions

Deqiang Sun
Assistant Professor
Biological insights in transcriptional and epigenetic regulation in development and diseases

Robert Yu-Lin Tsai, PhD
Associate Professor
Molecular mechanism that drives self-renewing proliferation of stem cells

James E. Womack, PhD
W.P. Luse Endowed & Distinguished Professor
Comparative genomics with emphasis on evolutionary relationships of mammalian genomes

Fen Wang, PhD
Professor & Director
Molecular basis of cell signaling; Aberrant cell signaling leading to birth defects and cancers

 

 

Research Faculty

Rachel Lynch, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
Metastatic colorectal cancer

Tetsuya Miyamoto, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
Neuroscience

Raimund Ober, PhD
Research Professor
Molecular/cellular biology; cancer therapeutics; and immunology

Roxanne Reger, MS
Research Assistant Professor

Deborah Threadgill, PhD
Research Assistant Professor

E. Sally Ward, PhD
Research Professor
Autoimmunity and cancer therapeutics

Zhigang Xie, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
Molecular/cellular mechanisms regulating neural stem cell homeostasis in the developing mammalian brain

 

Emeritus Faculty

Garret M. Ihler, MD, PhD
Professor Emeritus
Adjunct Professor

Arthur E. Johnson, PhD
Regents Professor Emeritus

C. Nick Pace, PhD
Distinguished Professor
Regents Professor
McMullin Professor of Genetics
Protein solubility, stability, and folding

Robert D. Wells, PhD
Professor Emeritus
Center for Genome Research
Institute of Biosciences & Technology

 

Research Staff

Abbey, Colette
abbey@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Research Associate
142 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0761

Abraham, Anish, PhD
aabraham@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate
446 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0657

Ahn, Ji-Eun
ahn@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate
242 Reynolds Bldg.
979.436.0802

Amaral, M. Elisabete, PhD
amaral@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Research Scientist
455 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0866

Attaluri, Sahithi, MPharm
attaluri@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Research Assistant
240 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.9672

Bageshwar, Umesh, PhD
bageshwar@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Research Scientist
448 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0861

Bewaji, Oluwatosin
obewaji@tamhsc.edu
Project Manager
202 Reynolds Bldg.
979.436.0788

Bing, Shuai, MD
shuai@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Senior Research Associate
240 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.9656

Challa, Dilip, PhD
dilip@wardoberlab.com
Postdoctoral Research Associate
446 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0740

Chao, Jerry Yen-Ching, PhD
chao@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate
446 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0659

Chen, Yan, PhD
yanchen@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate
242 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0798

Cho, Junhaeng, PhD
junhaengcho@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate
446 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0741

Chowdhury, Rajdeep, PhD
rchowdhury@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate
448 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0861

Cornstubble, Zaida
cornstubble@tamhsc.edu
Research Assistant
428 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0852

Cuomo, Danila
cuomo@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Visiting Scholar/Research Assistant
428 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0852

Dang, Hung Quang, PhD
hqdang@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Research Scientist
455 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0866

Dave, Sandeep, PhD
dave@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate
448 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0861

Dayani, Laila
dayani@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Senior Research Associate
240 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.9656

Fujii, Shinsuke, PhD
fujii@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Associate Research Scientist
242 Reynolds Bldg.
979.436.0798

Grabon, Aby
abygrabon@gmail.com
Research Assistant
116 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0756

Hai, Bo, DDS, MD
bhai@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate
370 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.9646

Hillhouse, Drew, PhD
hillhouse@tamu.edu
Research Assistant Professor
428 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0852

Jung, Jiung, PhD
jjung@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate
113 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0748

Kang, Xiaofeng, PhD
XFKang@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Associate Research Scientist
425 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0847 or 458.1549

Khare, Priyanka, PhD
khare@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate
446 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0744

Kim, Hyemee, PhD
hyemeekim@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate
228 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0969

Kodali, Maheedhar, PhD
kodali@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate
240 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.9657

Lambertz, Isabel
lambertz@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Research Specialist
210 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0786

Lee, Dong, PhD
dwlee@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate
113 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0748

Liu, Mengmeng, PhD
mengmengliu@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate
233 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0797

Liu, Qisong
qisongliu@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate
228 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0969

Madhu, Leelavathi Narayana, PhD
madhu@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate
240 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.9660

McDermott, Mark, PhD
mcdermott@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Assistant Research Scientist
116 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0756

Milutinovic, Bojana, PhD
milutinovic@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate
228 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0696

Mitra, Eeshika
emitra@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Research Assistant
240 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.9680

Miyamoto, Chika
cmiyamoto@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Lab Technician
249 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0802

Mlih, Mohammed, PhD
mlih@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate
238 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0766

Mo, Min, PhD
mo@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate
446 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0741

Murphy, Wesley
wmurphy@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Research Assistant
116 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0756

Nitcher, Megan
mmnitcher@tamu.edu
Research Assistant
428 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0852

Person, Alexandra
aperson@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Research Associate
204 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0779

Rao, Xiaolan, BA
rao@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Research Assistant 240 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.9656

Reed, Catrina, PhD
creed@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Research Scientist
446 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0741

Shi, Xiangyu
shi@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Research Assistant
233 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0766

Spier, Madison
spier@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Research Assistant
210 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0784

Storey, Stephen, PhD
storey@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Assistant Research Scientist
446 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0743

Sun, Wei, PhD
sun@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate
446 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0740

Swiercz, Rafal, PhD
swiercz@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Research Scientist
446 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0741

Tripathi, Ashutosh, PhD
tripathi@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate
116 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0756

Vogel, Andrew
vogel@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Research Assistant
240 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0852

Upadhya, Raghavendra, PhD
rupadhya@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate
240 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.9659

Wang, Bo
bwang@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate
446 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0659

Wang, Xiaoli
xiaoli.wang@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate
446 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0741

Zahabiyon, Mahla
zahabiyonkuroda@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Research Assistant
228 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.9681

Zeitouni Gregory, Suzanne, PhD
zeitouni@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate
426 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.9648

Zhao, Qingguo, PhD
qzhao@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate
370 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.9646

Zhao, Xiao, PhD
xzhao@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate
238 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0766

 

Graduate Research Assistants

Arabiotorre Duran, Angela
arabiotorreduran@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Graduate Assistant-Research
116 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0756

Booth, Rebecca
rmbooth@tamu.edu
Graduate Assistant-Research
261 Reynolds Bldg.
979.436.0806

Haskell, Andrew
haskell@tamu.edu
Graduate Assistant-Research
426 Reynolds Bldg.
979.436.9652

Hemba Waduge, Rajitha Udakara Sampath
sampath@tamu.edu
Graduate Assistant-Research
233 Reynolds Bldg.
979.436.0797

Kamradt, Michael
kam1987@mac.com
Graduate Assistant-Research
105 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0748

Lee, Dongju
dongjulee@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Graduate Assistant-Research
116 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0756

Li, Xiao
icymoon@neo.tamu.edu
Graduate Assistant-Research
233 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0797

Luo, Linjie
lluo@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Graduate Assistant-Research
226 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0788

Mantilla Rojas, Carolina
cmantillar@tamu.edu
Graduate Assistant-Research
428 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0852

Martinez, Elliott
elliott.martinez@tamu.edu
Graduate Assistant-Research
116 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0756

McNeill, Eoin
mcneill@medicine.tamhsc
Graduate Assistant-Research
426 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.9652

Mendes, Gabriela
mendesgg@tamu.edu
Graduate Assistant-Research
261 Reynolds Bldg.
979.436.0806

Molaei, Maral
mmolaei@cvm.tamu.edu
Graduate Assistant-Research
238 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0766

Osborn, Benjamin
ruy343@tamu.edu
Graduate Assistant-Research
116 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0756

Pan, Simin
span@tamhsc
Graduate Assistant-Research
426 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.9652

Pflug, Kathryn (Casey)
pflug@tamu.edu
Graduate Assistant-Research
113 Reynolds Bldg.
979.436.0748

Popp, Julie
jpopp@cvm.tamu.edu
Graduate Assistant-Research
428 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0852

Rafiee Vahid, Milad
rafieevahid@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Graduate Assistant-Research
446 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0659

Ramakrishnan, Sreevidhya
ramakrishnan@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Graduate Assistant-Research
446 Reynolds Bldg.
979.436.0741

Sakai, Andrei
sakai@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Graduate Assistant-Research
448 Reynolds Bldg.
979.436.0861

Salvador, Anna
annacsalvadr@tamu.edu
Graduate Assistant-Research
428 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0852

Scoggin, Kristin
scoggin@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Graduate Assistant-Research
428 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0852

Sveeggen, Timothy
sveeggen@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Graduate Assistant-Research
142 Reynolds Bldg.
979.436.0761

Vandehoef, Crissie
cvandehoef@medicine.tamhsc
Graduate Assistant-Research
238 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0766

Wahl, Kim, DVm
kwahl@cvm.tamu.edu
Graduate Assistant-Research
428 Reynolds Bldg.
979.436.0852

Wang, Yaxi
yaxi.wang@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Graduate Assistant-Research
116 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0756

You, Sungyong
syou@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Graduate Assistant-Research
446 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0664

Zhang, Linying
linyingzhang@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Graduate Assistant-Research
455 Reynolds Bldg.
979.436.0866

Zheng, Yuanning
yzheng@medicine.tamhsc
Graduate Assistant-Research
226 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0788

 

Staff

Chmiel, Janis
jchmiel@tamu.edu
Senior Administrative Coordinator
440 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0856

Eubanks-Garcia, Lisa
leubanks@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Business Administrator I
440 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0855

Garcia, Cynthia
cgarcia@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Business Coordinator I
228 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0509

Griffin, Amy
agriffin@tamhsc.edu
Business Coordinator I
440 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0854

Olokode, Mojisola
olokode@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Administrative Assistant
228 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.9650

 

Student Employees

Badillo, Victoria
Badillo@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Student Worker
440 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0858

Bageshwar, Raaghav
rbageshwar@gmail.com
Student Worker
142 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0761

Cesarek, Michael cesarekmr@tamu.edu
Student Worker
426 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.9652

El Nihum, Lamya
luelnihum@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Student Worker
446 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0805

Eldouh, Amir
amire22@tamu.edu
Student Worker
446 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0805

Fernandez de la Vega, Joshua
joshvega17@tamu.edu
Student Worker
446 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0805

Field, Hannah
field@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Student Worker
428 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0852

Guentzel, Ashley
guentzeln@tamu.edu
Student Worker
455 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0866

Jaimes-Alvarado, Jorge
jorgejaimes@tamu.edu
Student Worker
428 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0852

Kang, Serena
kayserena@tamu.edu
Student Worker
446 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0805

Kelly, Laticia
laticia.k@tamu.edu
Student Worker
428 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0852

Kim, Minkyung
skyup315@tamu.edu
Student Worker
116 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0756

Koehler, Brian
koehler@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Student Worker
370 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.9646

Kurudo, Kaitlyn
kjk2442@tamu.edu
Student Assistant
228 Reynolds Medical Bldg.


979.436.9681

Lam, Alexander
anexandratwlam@tamu.edu
Student Worker
113 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0748

Lopez Gonzalez, Luis
luislopezgonz98@gmail.com
Student Worker
233 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0797

Luna Buitrago, Diana
lunabuitrago@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Student Worker
233 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0797

Matsuyoshi, Sawaka
matsuyoshi@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Student Worker
428 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0852

Medler, Dawson
dawsonmedler@yahoo.com
Student Worker
142 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0761

Mohapatr, Biswajeet
biswajeettamu2017@tamu.edu
Student Worker
202 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0782

Okawara, Rie
r.okawara11@tamu.edu
Student Worker
446 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0805

Pagtalunan, Justine
jp00629@surrey.ac.uk
Student Worker
238 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0766

Patch, Christopher
chrispatch@tamu.edu
Student Assistant
228 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.9681

Porter, Gabriella
gabriellaporter@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Student Worker
446 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0805

Rockwell, Heidi
heidi17@tamu.edu
Student Worker
116 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0756

Tahan, Daniel
dstahan@tamu.edu
Student Worker
426 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.9652

Tak, Anushree (Ann)
anushree_tak@tamu.edu
Student Worker
202 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0782

Thawerbhoy, Sarah
sthawerbhoy@tamu.edu
Student Worker
446 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0805

Verma, Akshat
aksh2106@tamu.edu
Student Worker
446 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0805

Zhang, Andy
dxz15a@tamu.edu
Student Worker
446 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0805