This prestigious award is given to recognize one graduating medical student and one faculty member for exemplifying outstanding humanism in medicine by their compassion and sensitivity in the delivery of care to patients and their families. Each of the winners will be recognized at the senior awards ceremony, receive a cash award of $1,000 and have their name engraved on a plaque provided by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation of New Jersey. The Department of Humanities in Medicine administers the award process.

The Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award is presented by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation, a public foundation dedicated to fostering humanism in medicine. The award was presented as The Healthcare Foundation of New Jersey Award prior to 2002.

Past Winners:

Year Student Winner Faculty Winner
2014 Shannon Brown Palek Parekh, M.D.
2013 Monica Martinez Louis Lux, M.D.
2012 Chris Hovland Billy Ligon, M.D.
2011 Blake Bond Monford Daniel Custer, III, M.D.
2010 Drew Scott Weiner J.T.L. McNew, M.D.
2009 David Galloway Christian Cable, M.D.
2008 Kristoffer Crawford Michael P. Hagen, M.D.
2007 Jennifer Newton Luis Camarillo, M.D.
2006 Leslie Strickland Paul Bolton, M.D.
2005 Crista Warniment Charles W. Sanders, M.D.
2004 Lesley Hamilton Lawrence Frankel, M.D.
2003 Sapna Singh Parikh Mark Sicilio, M.D.
2002 Eva Kathryn Miller Darla Lowe, M.D.
2001 Sherilyn Willis Paxton Howard, M.D.
2000 Katherine Herrera Davidi Hardy, M.D.
1999 Wendy Lynn Brooks Richard Morgan, M.D.