James A. Knight Award for Excellence in Humanities in Medicine

This award is given annually to those students who recognize the importance to medicine, of humanities subjects (such as ethics, fine arts, history, law, and literature) by incorporating them into their training as future physicians. Aspects to be considered for this award include performance in required and elective humanities courses and humanities related activities. The student will be nominated by the department faculty. A list of previous winners can be found here.

James A. Knight Award for Leadership in Medicine

This award recognizes a student who demonstrates leadership as an integral part of professionalism, as exemplified by Dr. Knight, the founding dean of the Texas A&M College of Medicine. Course work, electives, extracurricular activities, service, administrative roles and other leadership activities may be considered for this award. This award will consider activities throughout the student's four years of medical school. Students will be nominated for this award by the humanities department faculty. A list of past winners of this award can be found here.

Courtney Chair Fellowship in the History of Medicine, London

This is a competitive fellowship in the amount of $2,500, endowed by Dr. James Rohack, The William R. Courtney Centennial Chair, in support of the fourth-year elective, Directed Research in the History of Medicine, London (MHUM 802-002B). It will be awarded to the student(s) whose research proposal merits approval by the department advisory award committee. Upon evidence of formal submission of the paper, co-authored with their supervisor, to a peer-reviewed journal before starting residency, additional funds may be awarded. Recent winners of this fellowship can be found here.

Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award presented by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation

This prestigious award is given to recognize one graduating medical student and one faculty member for exemplifying outstanding humanism in medicine by their compassion and sensitivity in the delivery of care to patients and their families. Each of the winners will be recognized at the senior awards ceremony, receive a cash award of $1,000 and have their named engraved on a plaque provided by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation of New Jersey. The Department of Humanities in Medicine administers the award process. Student winners can be found here. Faculty winners can be found here.