Faculty

Primary Faculty

Gianfranco Alpini, PhD
Professor of Medical Physiology
VA Research Scholar Award Recipient
Regulation of Biliary Growth by Sensory Innervation and Angiogenic Factors

Pooneh Bagher, PhD
Assistant Professor of Medical Physiology
Microcirculation; Calcium Imaging; Endothelial Cell Biology

Thomas J. Bartosh, PhD
Research Assistant Professor of Medical Physiology
Adult Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine; Tissue Engineering; Stem Cell Therapies for Cancer

Sharon DeMorrow, PhD
Associate Professor of Medical Physiology

David E. Dostal, PhD
Professor of Medical Physiology
Mechanical Activation of Cardiomyocyte Signaling Cascades; Molecular Mechanisms of Heart Failure

Heather L. Francis, PhD
Associate Professor of Medical Physiology

Anatoliy A. Gashev, MD, PhD, DMedSci
Associate Professor of Medical Physiology
Lymphatic Biology; Lymph Transport; Microcirculation

Shannon S. Glaser, PhD
Associate Professor of Medical Physiology

Harris J. Granger, PhD
Distinguished Professor of Medical Physiology
Vascular Biology; Microcirculation; Modeling

Rakeshwar S. Guleria, PhD
Research Assistant Professor of Medical Physiology

Sudhiranjan Gupta, PhD
Assistant Professor of Medical Physiology

Travis W. Hein, PhD
Professor of Medical Physiology
Vascular Biology; Microcirculation; Nitric Oxide and Endothelin-1 Signaling; Diabetes

Lih Kuo, PhD
Professor of Medical Physiology
Associate Chair - Temple Campus
Kruse Centennial Chair in Ophthalmology
Director, Ophthalmic Vascular Research Program
Vascular Biology; Microcirculation; Oxidative Stress

Cynthia Meininger, PhD
Professor of Medical Physiology
Director, Graduate Studies - Temple Campus
Endothelial Cell Biology; Vascular Complications of Diabetes

Brett M. Mitchell, PhD
Associate Professor of Medical Physiology
Hypertension; Immunity and Inflammation; Preeclampsia; Endothelial Dysfunction

Mariappan Muthuchamy, PhD
Professor of Medical Physiology
Cardiac & Lymphatic Muscle Contraction, Mechanotransduction

M. Karen Newell-Rogers, PhD
Professor of Medical Physiology

Xu Peng, M.D., PhD
Associate Professor of Medical Physiology
Cardiac and Vascular Development; Angiogenesis and Vasculogenesis

Thomas V. Peterson, PhD
Instructional Professor of Medical Physiology
Teaching and Curriculum Development; Medical Student Admissions

Joseph M. Rutkowski, PhD
Assistant Professor of Medical Physiology
Lymphatic Biology, Lymph Transport, Metabolism, Adipose Tissue Biology

Carl Tong, MD, PhD, FACC
Associate Professor of Medical Physiology
Contractile Proteins, Diastolic Dysfunction, Contractility, Cardiomyopathy, Calcium to Cross-Bridge Relationship

Andreea Trache, PhD
Associate Professor of Medical Physiology
Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Live Cell Biophysics, Mechanobiology, Imaging

Jerome P. Trzeciakowski, PhD
Professor of Medical Physiology
Associate  Chair - College Station Campus
Biomathematics, Complexity, Modeling, Algorithm Design

Vincent J. VanBuren, PhD, FAHA
Instructional Assistant Professor of Medical Physiology
Director, Computational Biology & Bioinformatics Laboratory
Computational Biology; Bioinformatics; Gene Networks

Emily Wilson, PhD
Professor of Medical Physiology
Assistant Vice President for Faculty Development and IPE
Associate Dean for Faculty Development and IPE
Vascular Remodeling; Smooth Muscle Phenotype; Mechanobiology

David C. Zawieja, PhD
Regents Professor and Head of Medical Physiology
Director, Division of Lymphatic Biology
Lymphatic Biology; Vascular Biology; Microcirculation; Imaging

Shenyuan L. Zhang, PhD
Associate Professor of Medical Physiology
Calcium Channels, Calcium Signaling, Immune Disease

Warren E. Zimmer, PhD
Scott Exter Professor of Medical Physiology
Gene Regulation; Smooth Muscle Differentiation; Cancer

Emeritus Faculty

R. Kelly Hester, PhD
Professor Emeritus of Medical Physiology
Associate Dean for Faculty Development Emeritus, Texas A&M University College of Medicine

Janet L. Parker, PhD
Professor Emeritus of Medical Physiology

H. Wayne Sampson, PhD
Professor Emeritus of Medical Physiology

Elvin E. Smith, PhD
Professor Emeritus of Medical Physiology
Executive Vice President Emeritus, Health Science Center

Joint/Adjunct Faculty

Jiang Chang, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor of Molecular Development and Diseases, Institute of Biosciences and Technology
Assistant Professor of Medical Physiology
Cardiac Biology; Molecular Basis of Heart Failure

Peter J. A. Davies, MD, PhD
Professor and Alkek Chair, Institute of Biosciences and Technology
Professor of Medical Physiology
Molecular Basis of Hormone and Drug Action; Biology and Pharmacology of Retinoids

David J. Reiner, PhD
Associate Professor, Institute of Biosciences and Technology
Professor of Medical Physiology
Mechanisms of Cell Signaling; Harnessing Model Genetic Organisms for Drug Discovery and Translational Biology

Robert H. Rosa, Jr., MD
Professor of Surgery
Professor of Medical Physiology
Retinal Vasoregulation; Retinal and Choroidal Neovascularization; Macular Degeneration, Diabetic Retinopathy

Cheryl Lyn Walker, PhD, ATS, FAAAS
Robert A. Welch Professor and Director, Institute of Biosciences and Technology
Professor UT MD Anderson Cancer Center
Clinical Professor of Veterinary Medicine and Biosciences, TAMU
Professor of Medical Physiology

Guoyao Wu, PhD
Professor of Animal Science
Professor of Medical Physiology
TAES Faculty Fellow and University Faculty Fellow
Pathobiology of Nitric Oxide and Polyamines; Diabetes, Obesity and Cardiovascular Complications

Yubin Zhou, MB, PhD
Assistant Professor, Institute of Biosciences and Technology
Assistant Professor of Medical Physiology
Calcium Channels, Calcium Ion Transport, Calcium Flux

Staff

Research Staff

Sanjukta Chakraborty, PhD
Assistant Research Scientist
Supervisor: Dr. Mariappan Muthuchamy
SChakraborty@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Walter E. Cromer, PhD
Assistant Research Scientist
Supervisor: Dr. David C. Zawieja
cromer@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Olga Gasheva, MD, PhD
Assistant Research Scientist
Supervisor: Dr. David C. Zawieja
Gasheva@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Irina Nizamutdinova, MD, PhD
Assistant Research Scientist
Dr. Anatoliy Gashev
Nizamutdinova@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Wei Wang, MD, MSc
Assistant Research Scientist
Supervisor: Dr. David C. Zawieja
weiwang@tamu.edu

Clerical Staff

Jennifer A. Alcantara
Business Associate I
jalcantara@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Starla K. Clover
Business Associate I
SKClover@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Stephanie A. Hilliard, MA, NREMR
Project Coordinator II
shilliard@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Tina R. Mendoza
Business Administrator I
trmendoza@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Amelia Rodriguez
Business Associate I
amelia-rodriguez@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Manuela Smith
Administrative Associate III
msmith@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Technical Staff

Sheridan Barajas, BS
Research Assistant
Supervisor: Dr. Joseph Rutkowski
barajas@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Joshua Beaver
Technician I
Supervisor: Dr. Thomas Bartosh
beaver@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Valorie Chiasson, BS
Research Associate
Supervisor: Dr. Brett Mitchell
vchiasson@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Bret Clough, MS
Lab Technician
Supervisor: Dr. Thomas Bartosh
clough@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Kevin W. Foskett, BS
End User Support Specialist III
Supervisor: Dr. David Zawieja
kfoskett@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Gabriel Frampton
Technician II
Supervisor: Dr. Sharon DeMorrow
gframpton@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Thao Giang
Technician II
Supervisor: Dr. Gianfranco Alpini
giang@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Emma Glenn
Student Assistant
Supervisor: Dr. Joseph Rutkowski
ekglenn@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Catalina Lopez Gelston
Research Assistant
Supervisor: Dr. Brett Mitchell
clopezgelston@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Stephanie M. Grant
Laboratory Coordinator II
Supervisor: Dr. Sharon DeMorrow
sgrant@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Geina M. Iskander
Student Assistant
Supervisor: Dr. Brett M. Mitchell
iskander@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Brandi Jefferson
Student Assistant
Supervisor: Dr. Sharon DeMorrow
bnjefferson@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Jessica Kain
Laboratory Attendant
Supervisor: Dr. Sharon DeMorrow
jkain@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Michelle Kaspick, AAS
Technician II
Supervisor: Dr. David Dostal
kaspick@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Katherine A. Kelly, MS
Research Specialist IV
Supervisor: Dr. Cynthia Meininger
kak@tamu.edu

Gabriela Lammoglia
Student Assistant
Supervisor: Dr. Joseph Rutkowski
lammoglia@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Ray Mitchell, BA
Research Associate
Supervisor: Dr. Xu Peng
RMitchell@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Matthew Lopez
Student Assistant
Supervisor: Dr. Shannon Glaser
lopezmat792@stu.templejc.edu

Naveen Menon
Student Assistant
Supervisor: Dr. Joseph Rutkowksi
nmenon@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Samuel V. Padgham, AAS, AA
Technician II
Supervisor: Dr. Andreea Trache
padgham@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Ahmed Pantho
Student Assistant
Supervisor: Dr. David C. Zawieja
ahmedfaiaz123@yahoo.com

Krishna Patel
Student Assistant
Supervisor: Dr. Andreea Trache
krishnapatel97@tamu.edu

Andrea Reyna, BS
Research Assistant
Supervisor: Dr. Joseph Rutkowski
areyna@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Tori White
Technician II
Supervisor: Dr. Shannon Glaser
twhite@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Lauren Willey
Student Assistant
Supervisor: Dr. David C. Zawieja
willey.lauren@yahoo.com

Elaina Williams
Student Assistant
Supervisor: Dr. Shannon Glaser
elainacoree@gmail.com

Carolynn VanZandt
Student Assistant
Supervisor: Dr. Joseph M. Rutkowski
cetvz2018@tamu.edu

Xin Xu, MD, DVM
Research Assistant
Supervisor: Dr. Lih Kuo
netxin@tamu.edu

Graduate Students

Dakshnapriya Balasubbramanian, MS
Georgetown University
Mentor: Dr. Brett Mitchell
balasubbramanian@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Yen-Lin Chen, MS
National Defense Medical Center, Taiwan, ROC
Mentor: Dr. Lih Kuo
ychen1@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Long H. Dao
Mentor: Dr. M. Karen Newell-Rogers
ldao@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Yang Lee, MS
Texas A&M International University
Mentor: Dr. Mariappan Muthuchamy
ylee@medicine.tamhsc.edu

MingJia Liu, BS
Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN
Mentor: Dr. David Dostal
liumingjia0@tamu.edu

Anand Narayanan, BS
West Virigina University
Mentor: Dr. David C. Zawieja
anarayanan@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Sarit Pal, DVM, MS
University of Texas at El Paso
Mentor: Dr. Anatoliy Gashev
spal@tamu.edu

Paris K. Reilley
Mentor: Dr. M. Karen Newell-Rogers
reilley@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Hongjiang Si, BS
Fudan University, Shanghai, China
Mentor: Dr. Shenyuan Zhang
si@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Jian Wang, BS
Nankai University, Tianjin, China
Mentor: Dr. Xu Peng
jwan22@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Xueyang Zhang, BS
Nankai University, Tianjin, China
Mentor: Dr. Shenyuan Zhang
xzhang1@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Postdoctoral Research Associates

Syeda Afroze, PhD
Gifu University, Japan
Mentor: David C. Zawieja, PhD
afroze@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Adri Chakraborty, PhD
Mentor: Dr. Joseph M. Rutkowski
adri.chakraborty@gmail.com

Paola Rosas, MD, RPh, PhD
Universidad Catolica Santa Maria, Peru
Mentor: Carl Tong, MD, PhD
PRosas@medicine.tamhsc.eduPRosas@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Harini Sreenivasappa, PhD
Texas A&M University
Mentor: Andreea Trache, PhD
sreenivasappa@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Shu-Huai Tsai, PhD
Tunghai University, Taichung, Taiwan
Mentor: Lih Kuo, PhD
stsai@medicine.tamhsc.edu